Dead Poets Reading Series Coordinators

/ /
Kate Braid has published six books of poetry and co-edited with Sandy Shreve the first book of Canadian form poetry, In Fine Form (Polestar, 2005), a new and expanded second edition of which was published in 2016 by Caitlin Press. Kate is also the author of three biographies and a memoir, Journeywoman (Caitlin, 2012), of her 15 years in construction. Her poetry has won or been short-listed for a number of awards including the Pat Lowther and Vancity Awards, and her essays and poems are widely anthologized. She has been recognized as one of the 2012 Remarkable Women of the Arts In Vancouver and that year was also writer-in-residence at Mabel Dodge Luhan House in Taos, New Mexico. Kate was the 2015 recipient of the City of Vancouver's Mayor's Arts Award for the Literary Arts. You can learn more about Kate on her website.

Christopher Levenson is the author of twelve books of poetry, most recently A tattered coat upon a stick (Quattro Books, 2017). His previous book, Night Vision (Quattro Books, 2014), was a finalist for the Governor General's Award. He co-founded and served as first editor of Arc magazine, then went on to found and run the Arc Reading Series in downtown Ottawa from 1981 to 1991. He was also Series Editor for the late Carleton University Press's Harbinger Poetry Series, which published two first books of poetry annually for the four years of its existence. He has lived in Germany, the Netherlands and the USA, and travelled widely in Europe and Asia, but since 2007 has finally settled down in Vancouver.

Kevin Spenst is the author of Ignite, Jabbering with Bing Bong, (both with Anvil Press), and over a dozen chapbooks including Pray Goodbye (the Alfred Gustav Press), Ward Notes (the serif of nottingham), and Flip Flop Faces and Unexpurgated Lives (JackPine Press). His work has won the Lush Triumphant Award for Poetry, been nominated for both the Alfred G. Bailey Prize and the Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry, and has appeared in dozens of publications including subTerrain magazine, Prairie Fire, CV2, the Rusty Toque, BafterC, Lemon Hound, Poetry is Dead, and the anthology Best Canadian Poetry 2014.

Rob Taylor is the youngest member of the team. And yes, he runs the website (very predictable, we know). He lives in Vancouver with his wife and son. Rob is the author of the poetry collections The News (Gaspereau Press, 2016) and The Other Side of Ourselves (Cormorant Books, 2011). Rob was the 2015 recipient of the City of Vancouver's Mayor's Arts Award for the Literary Arts (Emerging Artist). He blogs here and websites here.

Diane Tucker grew up a singing, acting and writing child in Vancouver, British Columbia. Her first book of poems, God on His Haunches (Nightwood Editions, 1996) was shortlisted for the 1997 Gerald Lampert Memorial Award. Her other poetry titles are Bright Scarves of Hours (Palimpsest Press, 2007) and Bonsai Love (Harbour Publishing, 2014). Her poems have been published in more than fifty journals in Canada and abroad. Her first novel, His Sweet Favour, was released by Thistledown Press in 2009. She edits books too, but crafts and paints to free herself from the endless run of words in her head.

Past Coordinators

Sandy Shreve has published five poetry collections, most recently Waiting for the Albatross (Oolichan, 2015). She co-edited, with Kate Braid, the anthology In Fine Form – The Canadian Book of Form Poetry (Polestar, 2005); edited Working For A Living, a collection of poems and stories by women about their work (Room of One’s Own, 1988) and founded BC’s Poetry in Transit program. You can learn more about Sandy on her website.

David Zieroth founded the Dead Poets Reading Series in 2007, and operated it for the first four years. He is the author of twelve books, including The Fly in Autumn (Habour Publishing, 2009), which won the Governor General's Award for Poetry. He has also written five chapbooks, the latest of which is Hay Day Canticle (Leaf Press, 2010). David runs the chapbook series The Alfred Gustav Press from his home in North Vancouver. More information on David can be found by visiting his website.

Our Sponsor:

Keep Informed:

Join the DPRS Mailing List